Missa Gaia – Earth Mass

Purchase This Album


"Winter and company have achieved a distinguished triumph in combining divergent music styles and imaginatively wedding voices, instrumentation and recorded sounds of a tundra wolf, canyon and musical wrens, harp seals, a flight of loons and singing humpback whales." - (THE BOSTON GLOBE)

Track List

1. For the Beauty of the Earth
2. Adoro te devote
3. For the Beauty of the Earth
4. Canticle of Brother Sun
5. Kyrie
6. Beatitudes
7. Mystery
8. Return to Gaia
9. Sanctus and Benedictus
10. Stained Glass Morning
11. Sun Psalm
12. The Promise of a Fisherman
13. The Blue Green Hills of Earth
14. Agnus Dei
15. Let Us Go Forth in Peace

Missa+Gaia++Earth+MassIntegrating world music with songs from the wild to celebrate the whole earth as a sacred space, the MISSA GAIA is performed annually on the first Sunday in October in the Cathedral of St John the Divine in New York. It was commissioned by the Dean of the Cathedral as a contemporary ecumencial Mass.

Recorded in the Grand Canyon and during two performances in the Cathedral, the album of this popular contemporary Mass for the Earth features the Paul Winter Consort, Susan Osborn, the voices of wolf, whale, eagle, harp seal, Amazonian musical wren, Russian loon, and the choruses of the Cathedral.


  • Paul Winter – soprano sax
  • Nancy Rumbel – oboe and English horn
  • Eugene Friesen – cello
  • Jim Scott – classical and 12-string guitar
  • Susan Osborn – voice
  • Paul Halley – organ and piano
  • Ted Moore – percussion
  • Gordon Johnson – bass
  • Jim Saporito – percussion
  • Guilherme Franco – percussion
  • Phil Markowitz – piano on ‘Beatitudes’